Two donut items not in the exhibit, because I’ll be wearing them

Donut necklace charm and pin

While most of my collection of donut ephemera is on view at the City Reliquary for Keep Your Eye Upon the Donut, these are two objects I left out since I’ll be wearing them at this weekend’s opening events. The first is a silver charm with the Mayflower Doughnut shop motto on the front. I discovered it online and it came with very little information. On the back it has this info: DCA June 1964 GDM. DCA at that time would have stood for DCA Food Industries, what Doughnut Corporation of America was renamed in 1956. Perhaps this was some sort of award for employees of the company with the initials GDM? I would love to find out more about it.

The motto on this necklace is special to me since when I was growing up it was on a mug (on view in the exhibit) that belonged to my Mom. As a child this motto felt mysterious to me, but today I agree wholeheartedly with the optimistic perspective it promotes.

The pin is another version of signaling one’s membership in the National Dunking Association which I mentioned in a previous post. In the invaluable The Donut Book by Sally Levitt Steinberg (granddaughter of Adolph Levitt, the founder of the Doughnut Corporation of America), she tells a story of wearing a similar pin on her first day of first grade. In the exhibit I discuss the rich history of the Doughnut Corporation of America and its contributions to popularizing the donut in greater detail.

Join us this weekend for the opening events for Keep Your Eye Upon the Donut and you’ll likely get to see these two objects.
Saturday, December 7, 6-9 p.m. Opening Celebration & Donut Party
Sunday, December 8, 3 p.m. Gallery Talk and meeting of the Donut Dunkers Club

Leave a Reply

